Burao: The 8th meeting of the Central Committee of Kulmiye elected senior leadership and party candidates


The 8th meeting of the Central Committee of the Kulmiye Party was concluded today in the town of Burco, the capital of Togdheer Region, and the meeting elected the senior leadership and presidential candidates.

The meeting of the Central Committee of Kulmiye, which opened on Sunday, August 20, 2023 in Burao, President of Somaliland, H.E. Muse Bihi Abdi, who has been leading Kulmiye for more than ten years, officially resigned as the chairmanship of the party and the position of the chairman of the party was elected Hon. Mohamed Kahin Ahmed, who was previously the first deputy chairman of the Kulmiye Party.

The newly elected chairman of the party, Hon. Mohamed Kahin Ahmed, thanked the members of the central committee of the KULMIYE party for the trust they gave him, and said that the Kulmye party is a democratic party that has played a significant role in nationalism during its time in power and has implemented extensive development in the country. The President of Somaliland, Mr. Muse Bihi Abdi, has emphasized the importance of adding new blood to the leadership of the party.

He thanked the supporters of the party and other members of the leadership for the way they worked with him during his leadership of the party in KULMIYE.

The position of the 1st Deputy Chairman of the Kulmiye Party, which were contested by Abdizais Mohamed Samale and Mohamed Adan Ilkacase. Samale won that position and got 168 votes while Mohamed Adan Ilkacase got 55 votes and 27 people were silent.  Abdiaziz Mohamed Samale and Mohamed Ilmi Adan who made speeches at the conference, thanked the members of the central committee of the party and confirmed that a free fight took place in the place.

The President of Somaliland H.E. Muse Bihi Abdi, was again elected as the presidential candidate of the party while the vice presidential candidate was the Minister of Trade and Tourism Mohamud Hassan Saad Sajin.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here