Somaliland: NEC Releases a Four Phased Voter Registration Timeline


THT-The Somaliland Electoral Commission has released  its Official Voter Registration Schedule, which will begin on November 29  2020 and end on the 13th January 2021.

These dates will   see NEC undertake only the registration of new voters while those already registered and have list their cards or want to change voting venue will be accommodated later.

This was revealed in press statement issued  by the Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Abdirashid Mohamud Ali (Riyo-raac), which details  the registration centers, including Badhan, Lasqoray, Dhahar and others near the border Somaliland shares with Somalia.

The full statement read: “In accordance with Article 44 of the Electoral and Voter Registration Law No. 91/2020 The President of the Republic of Somaliland Mr. Muse Bihi Abdi issued a ‘Presidential Decree’ on the 4th of November on the date of voter registration to begin in the country, with the date set for November 29, 2020.

Therefore, in accordance with the Presidential Decree and fulfilling its constitutional duties and powers, the NEC today, yesterday, November 7, 2020, officially announced the General Voter Registration Schedule, which is detailed in the table below.

Somaliland: NEC in a Four Phased Voter Registration Spanning 29th Nov 2020 to 13th January 2021
Chairman of the Somaliland Electoral Commission, Abdirashid Mohamud Ali (Riyo-raac)

Phase One, Awdal Region, Gabiley District, , Baligubadle and  Salahley districts  29th November to 02 December,

Phase 2, Hargeisa District and Sahil Region December 13th to 16th, 2020.

Phase 3, Togdheer Region, Aynaba District, Gar-Adag District and Ceel Af-weyn District, 27 December to 30 December.

Phase 4, Erigavo ,Badhan, Dhahar District, Lasqoray District, Las Anod , Hudun and Taleh Districts 10 January to 13 January, 202.

Between November 29th and January 13th, 2021, unregistered voters and those who have reached the voting age are guaranteed a voters card by the country’s  Constitution.

Registration will take place at all designated polling stations in the Republic of Somaliland, and will last for four days in each constituency.

The NEC strongly warns all members of the Somaliland community not to attempt to register more than once. Those who have previously registered and are attempting to re-register will lose the right to vote, and will be prosecuted as well as denied the right to vote in future.

For voters who  already registered in 2016 and lost their cards or want a Change of Place, they will be  served  once the registration of newcomers is complete.

The NEC would like to inform those who have not previously registered to register as soon as possible, take advantage of the time and obtain the right to register and vote as guaranteed by their Constitution. ”

Somaliland: NEC in a Four Phased Voter Registration Spanning 29th Nov 2020 to 13th January 2021
NEC statement on voter registration timeline

By: Yusuf M Hasan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here